• Format
  • E-bog, ePub
  • Engelsk
  • 15 sider
E-bogen er DRM-beskyttet og kræver et særligt læseprogram


This comes to you courtesy of Miniature Masterpieces who have an excellent range of quality short stories from the masters of the craft. Do search for Miniature Masterpieces at any digital store for further information.This audiobook is also duplicated in print as an ebook. Same title, same words. Perhaps a different experience but with Amazon's whispersync you can pick up and put down on any device. Start on audio, continue in print and any which way after that. This is, and these are, Miniature Masterpieces. Join us for the journey.John Galsworthy - An IntroductionJohn Galsworthy was born at Kingston Upon Thames in Surrey, England, on August 14th 1867. The family was wealthy and well established. John was schooled was at Harrow and New College, Oxford before training as a barrister. But Law was not for him.Galsworthy first published in 1897 with a collection of short stories entitled 'The Four Winds'. Initially he published as John Sinjohn but after the death of his father in 1904 he published as John Galsworthy.Much of his early works was as plays for which he dealt with social issues and the class system.From there it was but a short step to the works for which he won the Nobel prize and for which he is so well remembered; The Forsyte Saga trilogy. Although sympathetic to his characters, he reveals their insular, snobbish, and somewhat greedy attitudes and suffocating moral codes.In his writings he campaigns for prison reform, women's rights, animal welfare, and the opposition of censorship as well as a recurring theme of an unhappy marriage from the women's side.John Galsworthy died from a brain tumour at his London home, Grove Lodge, Hampstead on 31st January 31st. In accordance with his will he was cremated at Woking with his ashes then being scattered over the South Downs from an aeroplane.

Læs hele beskrivelsen
  • SprogEngelsk
  • Sidetal15
  • Udgivelsesdato22-03-2018
  • ISBN139781787379978
  • Forlag The Copyright Group
  • FormatePub

Findes i disse kategorier...

Se andre, der handler om...

Velkommen til Saxo – din danske boghandel

Hos os kan du handle som gæst, Saxo-bruger eller Saxo-medlem – du bestemmer selv. Skulle du få brug for hjælp, sidder vores kundeservice-team klar ved både telefonerne og tasterne.

Om medlemspriser hos Saxo

For at købe bøger til medlemspris skal du være medlem af Saxo Premium, Saxo Shopping eller Saxo Ung. De første 7 dage er gratis for nye medlemmer. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk og kan altid opsiges. Læs mere om fordelene ved vores forskellige medlemskaber her.

Machine Name: SAXO080