Shuggie Bain
4.5

Shuggie Bain

- Winner of the Booker Prize

  • Denne udgave
  • Bog, paperback
  • Engelsk
  • 480 sider

Beskrivelse

Winner of the Booker Prize

Winner of 'Book of the Year' and 'Debut of the Year' at the British Book Awards

The Million-Copy Bestseller

'An amazingly intimate, compassionate, gripping portrait of addiction, courage and love.' – The judges of the Booker Prize

'Douglas Stuart has written a first novel of rare and lasting beauty.' – Observer

It is 1981. Glasgow is dying and good families must grift to survive. Agnes Bain has always expected more from life, dreaming of greater things. But Agnes is abandoned by her philandering husband, and as she descends deeper into drink, the children try their best to save her, yet one by one they must abandon her to save themselves.

It is her son Shuggie who holds out hope the longest. Shuggie is different, he is clearly no’ right. But Shuggie believes that if he tries his hardest, he can be normal like the other boys and help his mother escape this hopeless place.

Shuggie Bain lays bare the ruthlessness of poverty, the limits of love, and the hollowness of pride. For readers of A Little Life and Angela's Ashes, it is a heartbreaking novel by a brilliant writer with a powerful and important story to tell.

'A heartbreaking novel' – The Times

'Tender and unsentimental . . . The Billy Elliot-ish character of Shuggie . . . leaps off the page.' – Daily Mail

Læs hele beskrivelsen
Detaljer
  • SprogEngelsk
  • Sidetal480
  • Udgivelsesdato15-04-2021
  • ISBN139781529019292
  • Forlag Picador
  • Målgruppe18+ år
  • FormatPaperback
Størrelse og vægt
  • Vægt341 g
  • Dybde3 cm
  • coffee cup img
    10 cm
    book img
    12,9 cm
    19,7 cm

    Findes i disse kategorier...

    Se andre, der handler om...

    Velkommen til Saxo – din danske boghandel

    Hos os kan du handle som gæst, Saxo-bruger eller Saxo-medlem – du bestemmer selv. Skulle du få brug for hjælp, sidder vores kundeservice-team klar ved både telefonerne og tasterne.

    Om medlemspriser hos Saxo

    For at købe bøger til medlemspris skal du være medlem af Saxo Premium, Saxo Shopping eller Saxo Studie. De første 7 dage er gratis for nye medlemmer. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk og kan altid opsiges. Læs mere om fordelene ved vores forskellige medlemskaber her.

    Machine Name: SAXO080