Naked

- On Sex, Work, and Other Burlesques

Bog
  • Format
  • Bog, paperback
  • Engelsk
  • 304 sider

Beskrivelse

In Naked, a celebrated burlesque performer, sex educator, and social worker bares it all, with incisive and hilarious essays about selling, performing, and consuming desire.

Fancy Feast draws back the curtain to reveal a world that most denizens of the daytime never see. Part exclusive backstage pass, part long-form literary striptease, these essays confront our culture's tightly held beliefs-like so many clutched pearls-about sex, communication, power, and the messiness of life on the margins of respectability. In "Dildo Lady," Fancy recounts her time compensating for the failures of the American sex education system while working retail at a sex toy store. In "Doing Yourself," Fancy tackles fatphobia and dating, self-love, and fantasies. In "Yes/No/Maybe," Fancy brings the reader from sex parties to polyamorous relationships as she contrasts the undeniable sexiness of enthusiastic consent with the devastating effects of miscommunication and entitlement.

Fancy Feast does this all as a fat woman who makes a living taking off her clothes-a triumphant punch-back at a culture that wants fat people to be self-hating or sexless. For fans of Lindy West and Melissa Febos, Naked is by turns splashy, vulnerable, and always powerful.

Læs hele beskrivelsen
Detaljer
  • SprogEngelsk
  • Sidetal304
  • Udgivelsesdato19-10-2023
  • ISBN139781643752372
  • Forlag Algonquin Books
  • FormatPaperback

Findes i disse kategorier...

Se andre, der handler om...

Velkommen til Saxo – din danske boghandel

Hos os kan du handle som gæst, Saxo-bruger eller Saxo-medlem – du bestemmer selv. Skulle du få brug for hjælp, sidder vores kundeservice-team klar ved både telefonerne og tasterne.

Om medlemspriser hos Saxo

For at købe bøger til medlemspris skal du være medlem af Saxo Premium, Saxo Shopping eller Saxo Ung. De første 7 dage er gratis for nye medlemmer. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk og kan altid opsiges. Læs mere om fordelene ved vores forskellige medlemskaber her.

Machine Name: SAXO080