The Scent of Secrets

af

indgår i serie Clara Vine


The Scent of Secrets
Du sparer Spar kr. 22,95 med Saxo Premium
  • Leveringstid Mangler, normalt 2-6 uger
Hvis du køber til medlemspris, bliver du automatisk medlem af Saxo Premium. De første 30 dage er gratis, derefter koster det 99,-/md. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk og kan altid opsiges. Læs mere om alle fordelene her.
Format:
Bog, paperback
Udgivelsesdato:
15-09-2015
Sprog:
Engelsk
Sidetal:
448
  • Beskrivelse
  • Yderligere info
  • Anmeldelser

Set in Europe, in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge.



The colorful, lively streets of Paris come as a welcome relief to Clara Vine after the dour countenance of Berlin, where bunkers and bomb shelters are being dug, soldiers march the streets in their high boots, and Jewish residents rush to make it home before curfew. Though Clara is in Paris to make a film, her true work is never far from her mind. Approached by a British intelligence officer, Clara is initially confounded by his request: Get close to Eva Braun and glean as much as she can about the F hrer's plans and intentions. Clara has already established friendships with several high-ranking Nazi wives, but Eva Braun is another matter altogether. Hitler keeps his "secret" girlfriend obsessively hidden, fiercely guarding their relationship as well as Eva's delicate psychological state. From the gilded halls of the decadent City of Light to the cobbled, quaint streets of Munich, and even to the chilling, rarefied air of the Berghof, Hitler's private mountaintop retreat, Clara flirts with discovery at every turn--and a dangerous, devious plot unfolds. Previously published in the U.K. as A War of Flowers



"A brilliant tale of spies and secrets, of intense psychological drama, of edgy climax and one extraordinary heroine."--Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers "A compelling story of love and betrayal in Hitler's Berlin . . . Peppered with real-life characters, this series offers a fascinating glimpse of the extraordinary world of the Nazi wives."--Daisy Goodwin, author of The American Heiress "An alluring blend of thrills, suspense, historic detail, and seduction."--Susan Elia MacNeal, author of the Maggie Hope series "An extraordinary, absorbing read with an array of characters so real you're there with them as war looms, and a pace that sweeps you from page to page. This is indeed a winner "--Charles Todd, author of Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries



Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.

Vis mereVis mindre

Udgivelsesdato:
15-09-2015
ISBN13:
9780553393903
Vægt:
317 g
Dybde:
22 mm
Bredde:
127 mm
Højde:
208 mm
Nummer i serien:
1
Nummer i serien:
1
Format:
Paperback
Udgave:
0
Forfattere

Vis mereVis mindre

Vis mereVis mindre

Fandt du ikke hvad du søgte?

Hvis denne bog ikke er noget for dig, kan du benytte kategorierne nedenfor til at finde andre titler. Klik på en kategori for at se lignende bøger.

Velkommen til Saxo - din danske boghandel!

Hos os kan du handle som Gæst, Saxo-bruger eller Saxo Premium-medlem. Du bestemmer selv, og vores kundeservice sidder altid klar med hjælp.

Om medlemspriser hos Saxo

Hvis du køber til medlemspris, bliver du automatisk medlem og får del i de mange fede fordele. De første 30 dage er gratis for nye brugere, og derefter koster det kun 99,-/md. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk, og du kan altid opsige det. Læs mere om fordelene ved Saxo Premium her.

Machine Name: SAXO030