The Photographer of the Lost

- A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick

af


The Photographer of the Lost
Du sparer Spar kr. 20,00 med Shopping-fordele
  • Leveringstid 6-9 hverdage
  • Forventet levering 04-05-2021
For at købe bogen til fordelspris skal du have et medlemskab med Shopping-fordele. Du kan prøve medlemskabet gratis de første 30 dage. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk og kan altid opsiges. Læs mere om medlemskaber og Shopping-fordele her.
Format:
Bog, paperback
Udgivelsesdato:
31-10-2019
Sprog:
Engelsk
Sidetal:
400
  • Beskrivelse
  • Yderligere info
  • Anmeldelser

**A BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK**For fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and 1917 comes a moving story about how hope and love will prevail against all odds. 'This excellent debut is a melancholic reminder of the rippling after-effects of war' The Times 'A touching novel of love and loss' Sunday Times 1921 In the aftermath of war, everyone is searching for answers. Edie's husband Francis never came home and was declared 'missing, believed killed'. But when she receives a mysterious photograph of him in the post, hope flares and she begins to search. Harry photographs gravesites on the Western Front, hired by grieving families. Plagued by memories of his last conversation with Francis, he has never stopped searching for his brother. After years apart, their search brings them together. As they uncover the truth they are haunted by the past and their own complex feelings - towards Francis, and towards each other. Are some questions better left unanswered? A beautiful novel, inspired by real events in the wake of the First World War, about love and loss, grief and guilt, and the fleeting, fragile moments of life.Praise for The Photographer of the Lost: 'There's only one word for this novel... and that's epic... A beautifully written must-read' heat 'A gripping, devastating novel about the lost and the ones they left behind' Sarra Manning, RED 'Terrific first novel' Daily Mail 'Scott has done an amazing job of drawing on real stories to craft a powerful novel' Good Housekeeping 'A deeply poignant and immersive novel . . . told in beautiful, elevated prose. I was completely caught up in these characters' stories' Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child 'What a wonderful debut novel . . . With a mystery at its heart and a moving, but page turning hook, I couldn't stop reading' Lorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village 'A sublimely rendered portrait of the search for answers amidst the chaos and devastation left behind in the aftermath of World War 1' Fiona Valpy, author of The Dressmaker's Gift 'A poignant hymn to those who gave up their lives for their country and to those who were left behind' Fanny Blake, author of A Summer Reunion 'I was utterly captivated by this novel, which swept me away, broke my heart, then shone wonderful light through all the pieces' Isabelle Broom, author of One Winter Morning 'Beautiful, unflinching: The Photographer of the Lost is going to be on an awful lot of Best Books of the Year lists, mine included... unforgettable' Iona Grey, author of The Glittering Hour 'Momentous, revelatory and astonishing historical fiction!' Historical Novel Society 'Had me spellbound from the first page to the last' Hazel Gaynor, author of The Lighthouse Keeper's Daughter 'An amazing debut. It captivated me from start to finish and I can't recommend it highly enough' NB Magazine

Andre udgaver:

Bog, paperback
Bog, hardback

Vis mereVis mindre

Udgivelsesdato:
31-10-2019
ISBN13:
9781471186899
Vægt:
585 g
Dybde:
31 mm
Bredde:
153 mm
Højde:
234 mm
Format:
Paperback
Udgave:
Export/Airside
Forfattere
Bibliotekernes beskrivelse Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Birdsong, The Photographer of the Lost is an epic novel of forbidden love, loss and the shattered hearts left behind in the wake of the First World War.

Vis mereVis mindre

Vis mereVis mindre

Fandt du ikke hvad du søgte?

Hvis denne bog ikke er noget for dig, kan du benytte kategorierne nedenfor til at finde andre titler. Klik på en kategori for at se lignende bøger.

Velkommen til Saxo – din danske boghandel!

Hos os kan du handle som gæst, Saxo-bruger eller Premium-medlem – du bestemmer helt selv. Skulle du få brug for hjælp, sidder vores kundeservice-team klar ved både telefonerne og tasterne.

Om fordelspriser hos Saxo

For at købe bøger til fordelspris, skal du være medlem af Premium, Premium Shopping eller Premium Studie. De første 30 dage er gratis for nye medlemmer. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk og kan altid opsiges. Læs mere om fordelene ved vores forskellige medlemskaber her.

Machine Name: SAXO080