The Last Hours

- A sweeping, utterly gripping historical novel for fans of Kate Mosse and Julian Fellowes

af

indgår i serie Last Hours


The Last Hours
Du sparer Spar kr. 50,00 med Saxo Premium
Format:
Bog, hardback
Udgivelsesdato:
02-11-2017
Sprog:
Engelsk
Sidetal:
560
  • Beskrivelse
  • Yderligere info
  • Anmeldelser

June, 1348: the Black Death enters England through the port of Melcombe in the county of Dorsetshire. Unprepared for the virulence of the disease, and the speed with which it spreads, the people of the county start to die in their thousands. In the estate of Develish, Lady Anne takes control of her people's future - including the lives of two hundred bonded serfs. Strong, compassionate and resourceful, Lady Anne chooses a bastard slave, Thaddeus Thurkell, to act as her steward. Together, they decide to quarantine Develish by bringing the serfs inside the walls. With this sudden overturning of the accepted social order, where serfs exist only to serve their lords, conflicts soon arise. Ignorant of what is happening in the world outside, they wrestle with themselves, with God and with the terrible uncertainty of their futures. Lady Anne's people fear starvation but they fear the pestilence more. Who amongst them has the courage to leave the security of the walls? And how safe is anyone in Develish when a dreadful event threatens the uneasy status quo..?

Andre udgaver:

Bog, paperback
Bog, hardback

Vis mereVis mindre

Udgivelsesdato:
02-11-2017
ISBN13:
9781760632137
Vægt:
866 g
Dybde:
46 mm
Bredde:
162 mm
Højde:
240 mm
Forlag:
Allen & Unwin
Format:
Hardback
Udgave:
Main
  • Forfattere

  • Bibliotekernes beskrivelse

    Minette Walters has been a master of crime fiction for nearly two decades. Now this extraordinary writer turns her talents in a bold new direction; a sweeping, utterly gripping historical novel set during the time of the Black Death in Dorset.

Vis mereVis mindre

Vis mereVis mindre

The Last Hours

- A sweeping, utterly gripping historical novel for fans of Kate Mosse and Julian Fellowes

af

indgår i serie Last Hours

  • Leveringstid 2-3 hverdage
  • Forventet levering 23-10-2019
Køb til medlemspris og få altid fri fragt.
Prøv 30 dage gratis (herefter 99,-/md.).

Læs mere om Saxo Premium her.

på lager

Fandt du ikke hvad du søgte?

Hvis denne bog ikke er noget for dig, kan du benytte kategorierne nedenfor til at finde andre titler. Klik på en kategori for at se lignende bøger.