The Girl in the Castle
Du sparer Spar kr. 43,91 med Saxo Premium
  • Leveringstid Mangler, normalt 2-6 uger
Hvis du køber til medlemspris, bliver du automatisk medlem af Saxo Premium. De første 30 dage er gratis, derefter koster det 99,-/md. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk og kan altid opsiges. Læs mere om alle fordelene her.
Format:
Bog, hardback
Udgivelsesdato:
27-09-2016
Sprog:
Engelsk
Sidetal:
512
  • Beskrivelse
  • Yderligere info
  • Anmeldelser

Previously published as The Girl in the Castle

Ireland. The early twentieth century.

Two girls on the cusp of womanhood. A nation on the brink of war.

Read their story -- and see why JOJO Moyes says that "Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore."

Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill grows up in Castle Deverill, on the sunning green ghills of West Cork, Ireland -- the same place her ancestors have always dwelled. She isn't fully Irish, as the son of the local veterinarian likes to tease her; but this doesn't stop Kitty and Jack O'Leary from falling in love...

Bridie Doyle, daughter to Castle Deverill's cook, cherishes her friendship with Kitty. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having wealth, having glamour, having... more. And when she discovers Kitty's darkest secret, Bridie finds herself growing to resent the girl in the castle who seems to have it all.

As Irish and British forces collide in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight -- and Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But, her allegiance to her family and her friends will soon be tested... and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she's ever known are threatened.

A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland -- perfect for fans of DOWNTON ABBEY and KATE MORTON.







Vis mereVis mindre

Udgivelsesdato:
27-09-2016
ISBN13:
9780062490797
Vægt:
725 g
Dybde:
35 mm
Bredde:
160 mm
Højde:
233 mm
Nummer i serien:
1
Nummer i serien:
1
Format:
Hardback
Udgave:
0
Forfattere
Bibliotekernes beskrivelse

International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the twentieth century

Built on the stunning green hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill is Kitty Deverill's beloved home, which has been in her family for generations. Kitty's heart belongs completely to the wild countryside of the Emerald Isle even though she's Anglo-Irish. And her devotion to her Irish Catholic friends Bridie Doyle, the daughter of the castle's cook, and Jack O'Leary, the vet's son, is unmatched--even if Jack is always reminding her that she isn't fully Irish. Although they are from different worlds, Jack and Kitty fall in love, knowing their union faces the greatest obstacles.

Bridie cherishes her friendship with Kitty, who makes her feel more like her equal than a servant. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having all the wealth and glamour Kitty's station in life affords her. When she discovers a secret that Kitty has been keeping from her, Bridie grows resentful toward the girl in the castle who seems to have it all.

When the Irish revolt to overthrow British rule in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight. Refusing to keep her distance, Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But as she soon discovers, her allegiance to her family and her friends will be tested--and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life Kitty has ever known are threatened.

Vis mereVis mindre

Vis mereVis mindre

Fandt du ikke hvad du søgte?

Hvis denne bog ikke er noget for dig, kan du benytte kategorierne nedenfor til at finde andre titler. Klik på en kategori for at se lignende bøger.

Velkommen til Saxo - din danske boghandel!

Hos os kan du handle som Gæst, Saxo-bruger eller Saxo Premium-medlem. Du bestemmer selv, og vores kundeservice sidder altid klar med hjælp.

Om medlemspriser hos Saxo

Hvis du køber til medlemspris, bliver du automatisk medlem og får del i de mange fede fordele. De første 30 dage er gratis for nye brugere, og derefter koster det kun 99,-/md. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk, og du kan altid opsige det. Læs mere om fordelene ved Saxo Premium her.

Machine Name: SAXO030