FRI FRAGT: Bestil før kl. 23:59

Bog, paperback The Evil Hours af David J. Morris

The Evil Hours

- A Biography of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

(Bog, paperback)

Kunder (0 anmeldelser)

“Conveys the mysteries of trauma in a way that is unsurpassed in the literature . . . This is the most important book on the subject to come out in this century.” —Times Literary Supplement

“Compulsively readable.” —Los Angeles Times

Post-traumatic stress disorder ... Læs mere

“Conveys the mysteries of trauma in a way that is unsurpassed in the literature . . . This is the most important book on the subject to come out in th... Læs mere

Produktdetaljer:

Sprog:
Engelsk
ISBN-13:
9780544570320
Sideantal:
338
Udgivet:
05-01-2016
Udgave:
1 Reprint
Vis mere

Sæt bog på liste

  • Bogliste

Leveringstid
4-6 hverdage
Forventet levering
01-03-2018

kr. 129,95
Fragt
Gratis

kr. 99,95
Fri fragt

Prisen er gældende for medlemmer af Saxo Premium. Prøv de første 14 dage gratis. (Herefter 99,-/md.)
Læs mere om vores forskellige typer medlemskab
her

Til dig, der elsker bøger

Læs mere om medlemskab
Op til 70% rabat Fri fragt
Udvidet returret Ingen binding
Fri streaming af 30.000+ e- og lydbøger


Forlagets beskrivelse
“Conveys the mysteries of trauma in a way that is unsurpassed in the literature . . . This is the most important book on the subject to come out in this century.” —Times Literary Supplement

“Compulsively readable.” —
Los Angeles Times

Post-traumatic stress disorder haunts America today, its reach extending far beyond the armed forces to touch the lives of millions of us. In The Evil Hours, David J. Morris shares stories of people living with PTSD—including himself—and investigates the rich scientific, literary, and cultural history of the condition. The result is a humane, unforgettable book that has been hailed as a literary triumph, and an indispensable account of an illness.

“[The Evil Hours] reminded me why I wanted to be a writer in the first place . . . Communicate[s] the reality of PTSD, both to those who live with it and those who never have.” —David Brooks, New York Times

“Engaging . . . Timely . . . A fascinating and well-researched narrative.” —Chicago Tribune

“This is the book we’ve always needed . . . A work that empowers and connects people like never before. Anyone who has been touched by PTSD would benefit greatly from this book.” —Foreign Policy
Bibliotekernes beskrivelse
"In the tradition of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Noonday Demon, a moving, eye-opening exploration of PTSD. Just as polio loomed over the 1950s, and AIDS stalked the 1980s and '90s, posttraumatic stress disorder haunts us in the early years of thetwenty-first century. Over a decade into the United States' "global war on terror," PTSD afflicts as many as 30 percent of the conflict's veterans. But the disorder's reach extends far beyond the armed forces. In total, some twenty-seven million Americans are believed to be PTSD survivors. Yet to many of us, the disorder remains shrouded in mystery, secrecy, and shame.Now, David J. Morris -- a war correspondent, former Marine, and PTSD sufferer himself -- has written the essential account of this illness. Through interviews with individuals living with PTSD, forays into the scientific, literary, and cultural history of the illness, and memoir, Morris crafts a moving work that will speak not only to those with the condition and to their loved ones, but also to all of us struggling to make sense of an anxious and uncertain time"--

Kundernes boganmeldelser af The Evil Hours

Anmeld bogen og vær med i konkurrencen om gavekort – læs mere her.

Der er ingen anmeldelser af The Evil Hours

for at skrive en anmeldelse.

Se andre bøger, der handler om:

Bogens kategori:

Din personlige bogassistent

Han følger dig rundt og finder nye anbefalinger, baseret på de bøger du kigger på.

Skjul bogassistenten

Få løbende anbefalinger fra din personlige bogassistent, mens du kigger rundt her på siden.