FRI FRAGT FRI FRAGT 00T 00M 00S Tilbage

The Evil Hours

af

Du sparer 21% fra forlagets pris
The Evil Hours
  • Leveringstid 4-6 hverdage
  • Forventet levering 27-06-2018
Køb til medlemspris og få altid fri fragt.
Prøv 14 dage gratis (herefter 79,-/md.).

Læs mere om Saxo Premium her.
  • Op til 70% rabat
  • Fri fragt
  • Stream 30.000 e- og lydbøger
  • Bog, paperback (kr. 109,95) (kr. 139,95)
    1. Beskrivelse

      “Conveys the mysteries of trauma in a way that is unsurpassed in the literature . . . This is the most important book on the subject to come out in this century.” —Times Literary Supplement

      “Compulsively readable.” —Los Angeles Times

      Post-traumatic stress disorder haunts America today, its reach extending far beyond the armed forces to touch the lives of millions of us. In The Evil Hours, David J. Morris shares stories of people living with PTSD—including himself—and investigates the rich scientific, literary, and cultural history of the condition. The result is a humane, unforgettable book that has been hailed as a literary triumph, and an indispensable account of an illness.

      “[The Evil Hours] reminded me why I wanted to be a writer in the first place . . . Communicate[s] the reality of PTSD, both to those who live with it and those who never have.” —David Brooks, New York Times

      “Engaging . . . Timely . . . A fascinating and well-researched narrative.” —Chicago Tribune

      “This is the book we’ve always needed . . . A work that empowers and connects people like never before. Anyone who has been touched by PTSD would benefit greatly from this book.” —Foreign Policy

      Andre udgaver:

      Lydbog, CD

    2. Yderligere info
      Udgivelsesdato:
      05-01-2016
      Sprog:
      Engelsk
      ISBN13:
      9780544570320
      Sidetal:
      338
      Vægt:
      272 g
      Højde:
      25 mm
      Bredde:
      133 mm
      Længde:
      203 mm
      Forlag:
      Mariner Books
      Mærkat:
      Bog, paperback
      Målgruppe:
      For adult education
      Format:
      Paperback
      Udgave:
      1 Reprint
      • Bibliotekernes beskrivelse

        "In the tradition of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Noonday Demon, a moving, eye-opening exploration of PTSD. Just as polio loomed over the 1950s, and AIDS stalked the 1980s and '90s, posttraumatic stress disorder haunts us in the early years of thetwenty-first century. Over a decade into the United States' "global war on terror," PTSD afflicts as many as 30 percent of the conflict's veterans. But the disorder's reach extends far beyond the armed forces. In total, some twenty-seven million Americans are believed to be PTSD survivors. Yet to many of us, the disorder remains shrouded in mystery, secrecy, and shame.Now, David J. Morris -- a war correspondent, former Marine, and PTSD sufferer himself -- has written the essential account of this illness. Through interviews with individuals living with PTSD, forays into the scientific, literary, and cultural history of the illness, and memoir, Morris crafts a moving work that will speak not only to those with the condition and to their loved ones, but also to all of us struggling to make sense of an anxious and uncertain time"--

    3. Anmeldelser

      Kundernes boganmeldelser af The Evil Hours

    Fandt du ikke hvad du søgte?

    Hvis denne bog ikke er noget for dig, kan du benytte kategorierne nedenfor til at finde andre titler. Klik på en kategori for at se lignende bøger.