The Curious Habits of Dr Adams

- A 1950s Murder Mystery

af


The Curious Habits of Dr Adams
Du sparer Spar kr. 30,00 med Saxo Premium
Format:
Bog, paperback
Udgivelsesdato:
12-09-2013
Sprog:
Engelsk
Sidetal:
368
  • Beskrivelse
  • Yderligere info
  • Anmeldelser

'Was rich Mrs Gertrude Hullett murdered at her luxurious 15-room home on Beachy Head? Detectives are tonight trying to establish the cause of the 50-year-old widow's sudden death . . . ' Daily Mail, 1957In July 1957, the press descended in droves on the south-coast town of Eastbourne. An inquest had just been opened into the suspicious circumstances surrounding the death of Mrs Bobbie Hullett. She died after months of apparent barbiturate abuse - the drugs prescribed to calm her nerves by her close friend and doctor, Dr John Bodkin Adams.The inquest brought to the surface years of whispered suspicion that had swept through the tea rooms, shops and nursing homes of the town. The doctor's alarming influence over the lives, deaths and finances of wealthy widows had not gone unnoticed - it was rumoured that the family doctor had been on a killing spree that spanned decades and involved 300 suspicious cases. Superintendent Hannam of Scotland Yard was called in to investigate.The Curious Habits of Dr Adams brilliantly brings to life the atmosphere of post-war England, and uses a wealth of new documents to follow the twists and turns of an extraordinary Scotland Yard murder enquiry. As expertly crafted as the best period detective novel, this book casts an entertainingly chilling light on a man reputed to be one of England's most prolific serial killers.

Andre udgaver:

Bog, paperback

Vis mereVis mindre

Udgivelsesdato:
12-09-2013
ISBN13:
9781848544727
Vægt:
266 g
Dybde:
24 mm
Bredde:
135 mm
Højde:
197 mm
Format:
Paperback
  • Forfattere

  • Bibliotekernes beskrivelse

    Perfect for fans of Kate Summerscale, this is the chilling true tale of Dr John Bodkin Adams, the family doctor suspected of murdering 160 of his patients in 1950s Eastbourne.

Vis mereVis mindre

Vis mereVis mindre

The Curious Habits of Dr Adams

- A 1950s Murder Mystery

af

  • Leveringstid 2-3 hverdage
  • Forventet levering 29-10-2019
Køb til medlemspris og få altid fri fragt.
Prøv 30 dage gratis (herefter 99,-/md.).

Læs mere om Saxo Premium her.

på lager

Fandt du ikke hvad du søgte?

Hvis denne bog ikke er noget for dig, kan du benytte kategorierne nedenfor til at finde andre titler. Klik på en kategori for at se lignende bøger.