Hark

- Lipsyte, S: Hark

af


Hark
Du sparer Spar kr. 15,00 med Shopping-fordele
  • Leveringstid 5-7 hverdage
  • Forventet levering 20-04-2021
For at købe bogen til fordelspris skal du have et medlemskab med Shopping-fordele. Du kan prøve medlemskabet gratis de første 30 dage. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk og kan altid opsiges. Læs mere om medlemskaber og Shopping-fordele her.
Format:
Bog, paperback
Udgivelsesdato:
06-02-2020
Sprog:
Engelsk
Sidetal:
304
  • Beskrivelse
  • Yderligere info
  • Anmeldelser

'A pure joy to read' Guardian'...a dastardly hysterical take on modern day rhetoric and the eternal ridiculousness of it all. More than a 'must read,' Hark is a 'must believe!'' Paul Beatty, author of The Sellout'Madcap and full of love, laughter and unexpected beauty (not to mention the world's greatest bone marrow smuggling scheme), if Hark doesn't make you stalk Sam Lipsyte and try to break up his marriage, then you are not human.' Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story'The world needed more Sam Lipsyte and Lipsyte, knowing this, perhaps, has given us Hark. It's a stellar work by a great satirist, an uncanny observer, a keen stylist, a truly fine and thrilling writer.' Patrick deWitt, author of The Sisters BrothersIn an America convulsed by political upheaval, cultural discord, environmental collapse and spiritual confusion, many folks are searching for peace, salvation, and - perhaps most immediately - just a little damn focus.Enter Hark Morner, an unwitting guru whose technique of "Mental Archery" - a combination of mindfulness, mythology, fake history, yoga, and, well, archery - is set to captivate the masses and raise him to near-messiah status. It's a role he never asked for, and one he is woefully underprepared to take on. But his inner-circle of modern pilgrims have other plans, as do some suddenly powerful fringe players, including a renegade Ivy League ethicist, a gentle Swedish kidnapper, a crossbow-hunting veteran of jungle drug wars, a social media tycoon with an empire on the skids, and a mysteriously influential (but undeniably slimy) catfish.In this social satire of the highest order, Sam Lipsyte, author of the bestselling novel The Ask and master of the form, reaches new peaks of daring in a novel that revels in contemporary absurdity and the wild poetry of everyday language while exploring the emotional truths of his characters - men, women and children seeking meaning and dignity in a chaotic, ridiculous and often dangerous world.

Andre udgaver:

Bog, paperback
Bog, hardback
E-bog, ePub
Lydbog, download

Vis mereVis mindre

Udgivelsesdato:
06-02-2020
ISBN13:
9781783783236
Vægt:
215 g
Dybde:
18 mm
Bredde:
129 mm
Højde:
198 mm
Forlag:
Granta Books
Format:
Paperback
Forfattere
Bibliotekernes beskrivelse A riotous novel of awkward believers, floundering marriages and our maladjusted 21st century, from one of America's sharpest satirists - for fans of Gary Shteyngart, Paul Murray and Larry David.

Vis mereVis mindre

Vis mereVis mindre

Fandt du ikke hvad du søgte?

Hvis denne bog ikke er noget for dig, kan du benytte kategorierne nedenfor til at finde andre titler. Klik på en kategori for at se lignende bøger.

Velkommen til Saxo – din danske boghandel!

Hos os kan du handle som gæst, Saxo-bruger eller Premium-medlem – du bestemmer helt selv. Skulle du få brug for hjælp, sidder vores kundeservice-team klar ved både telefonerne og tasterne.

Om fordelspriser hos Saxo

For at købe bøger til fordelspris, skal du være medlem af Premium, Premium Shopping eller Premium Studie. De første 30 dage er gratis for nye medlemmer. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk og kan altid opsiges. Læs mere om fordelene ved vores forskellige medlemskaber her.

Machine Name: SAXO081