Emperor's Handbook

- A New Translation of The Meditations

af

Emperor's Handbook
Du sparer Spar kr. 30,00 med Shopping-fordele
  • Leveringstid Kan forudbestilles
For at købe bogen til fordelspris skal du have et medlemskab med Shopping-fordele.
Du kan prøve medlemskabet gratis i 30 dage. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk og kan altid opsiges.
Format:
Lydbog, download
Sprog:
Engelsk
  • Beskrivelse
  • Yderligere info
  • Anmeldelser

In the tradition of The Art of Living and Marcus Aurelius Meditationsa practical book of timeless advice from one of the most powerful individuals in historyavailable for the first time in a highly accessible translation, including several unique features for contemporary readers and users of daily wisdom guides.Essayist Matthew Arnold described the man who wrote these words as the most beautiful figure in history. Possibly so, but he was certainly more than that. Marcus Aurelius ruled the Roman Empire at its height, yet he remained untainted by the incalculable wealth and absolute power that had corrupted many of his predecessors. Marcus knew the secret of how to live the good life amid trying and often catastrophic circumstances, of how to find happiness and peace when surrounded by misery and turmoil, and of how to choose the harder right over the easier wrong without apparent regard for self-interest. The historian Michael Grant praises Marcuss book as the best ever written by a major ruler, and Josiah Bunting, superintendent of the Virginia Military Institute, calls it the essential book on character, leadership, duty. Never intended for publication, the Meditations contains the practical and inspiring wisdom by which this remarkable emperor lived the life not of a saintly recluse, but of a general, administrator, legislator, spouse, parent, and judge besieged on all sides. The Emperors Handbook offers a vivid and fresh translation of this important piece of ancient literature. It brings Marcuss words to life and shows his wisdom to be as relevant today as it was in the second century. This book belongs on the desk and in the briefcase of every business executive, political leader, and military officer. It speaks to the soul of anyone who has ever exercised authority or faced adversity or believed in a better day.

Vis mereVis mindre

Udgivelsesdato:
13-12-2022
ISBN13:
9781797154459
Format:
Lydbog download
Forfatter

Vis mereVis mindre

Vis mereVis mindre

Fandt du ikke hvad du søgte?

Hvis denne bog ikke er noget for dig, kan du benytte kategorierne nedenfor til at finde andre titler. Klik på en kategori for at se lignende bøger.

Se andre bøger, der handler om

Velkommen til Saxo – din danske boghandel!

Hos os kan du handle som gæst, Saxo-bruger eller Premium-medlem – du bestemmer helt selv. Skulle du få brug for hjælp, sidder vores kundeservice-team klar ved både telefonerne og tasterne.

Om fordelspriser hos Saxo

For at købe bøger til fordelspris, skal du være medlem af Premium, Premium Shopping eller Premium Studie. De første 30 dage er gratis for nye medlemmer. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk og kan altid opsiges. Læs mere om fordelene ved vores forskellige medlemskaber her.

Machine Name: SAXO080