Elmet

- SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017

af


Elmet
Du sparer Spar kr. 20,00 med Saxo Premium
  • Leveringstid 2-3 hverdage
  • Forventet levering 03-03-2020
Hvis du køber til medlemspris, bliver du automatisk medlem af Saxo Premium. De første 30 dage er gratis, derefter koster det 99,-/md. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk og kan altid opsiges. Læs mere om alle fordelene her.
Format:
Bog, paperback
Udgivelsesdato:
08-03-2018
Sprog:
Engelsk
Sidetal:
320
  • Beskrivelse
  • Yderligere info
  • Anmeldelser

SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017 AND THE PFD/SUNDAY TIMES YOUNG WRITER OF THE YEAR AWARDWINNER OF A SOMERSET MAUGHAM AWARD AND THE POLARI PRIZE 'A quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable' The Economist'A cleverly constructed rural Gothic fable . . . Elmet is a marvellous achievement' TLS'Pastoral idyll, political expose, cosy family saga and horror tale, it reads like a traditional children's story that turns into a gangster film: Hansel and Gretel meets The Godfather' Sunday TimesDaniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned menacing and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them in the woods with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted. Cathy was more like their father: fierce and full of simmering anger. Daniel was more like their mother: gentle and kind. Sometimes, their father disappeared, and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home, he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew.Brutal and beautiful in equal measure, Elmet is a compelling portrayal of a family living on the fringes of contemporary society, as well as a gripping exploration of the disturbing actions people are capable of when pushed to their limits.

Andre udgaver:

Bog, paperback
Bog, hardback

Vis mereVis mindre

Udgivelsesdato:
08-03-2018
ISBN13:
9781473676497
Vægt:
262 g
Dybde:
20 mm
Bredde:
183 mm
Højde:
203 mm
Format:
Paperback
Forfattere
Bibliotekernes beskrivelse An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex SerpentPRIZES:Winner of Somerset Maugham Awards 2018 (UK)Winner of Polari Prize 2018 (UK)Short-listed for The Man Booker Prize 2017 (UK)Short-listed for Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize 2018 (UK)Short-listed for The Sunday Times/Peters Fraser & Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award 2018 (UK)Long-listed for Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 (UK)Long-listed for Dylan Thomas Prize 2018 (UK)Long-listed for International Dublin Literary Award 2018 (UK)

Vis mereVis mindre

Vis mereVis mindre

Fandt du ikke hvad du søgte?

Hvis denne bog ikke er noget for dig, kan du benytte kategorierne nedenfor til at finde andre titler. Klik på en kategori for at se lignende bøger.

Velkommen til Saxo - din danske boghandel!

Hos os kan du handle som Gæst, Saxo-bruger eller Saxo Premium-medlem. Du bestemmer selv, og vores kundeservice sidder altid klar med hjælp.

Om medlemspriser hos Saxo

Hvis du køber til medlemspris, bliver du automatisk medlem og får del i de mange fede fordele. De første 30 dage er gratis for nye brugere, og derefter koster det kun 99,-/md. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk, og du kan altid opsige det. Læs mere om fordelene ved Saxo Premium her.

Machine Name: SAXO031