Disappearing Earth

af


Disappearing Earth
Du sparer Spar kr. 35,00 med Saxo Premium
  • Leveringstid Mangler, normalt 2-5 uger
Hvis du køber til medlemspris, bliver du automatisk medlem af Saxo Premium. De første 30 dage er gratis, derefter koster det 99,-/md. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk og kan altid opsiges. Læs mere om alle fordelene her.
Format:
Bog, hardback
Udgivelsesdato:
14-05-2019
Sprog:
Engelsk
Sidetal:
272
  • Beskrivelse
  • Yderligere info
  • Anmeldelser

"A genuine masterpiece." --Gary Shteyngart For fans of Anthony Marra's A Constellation of Vital Phenomena and T a Obreht's The Tiger's Wife the kidnapping of two small girls on a remote peninsula in Russia sets in motion a propulsive, evocative, searingly original debut novel by a dazzling young writer. One August afternoon, on the shoreline of the Kamchatka Peninsula at the northeastern tip of Russia, two girls--sisters, ages eight and eleven--go missing. The police investigation goes cold from the outset. In the girls' tightly-woven community, everyone must grapple with the loss. But the fear and danger is felt most profoundly among the women of this isolated place.

Taking us one chapter per month across a year on Kamchatka, this powerful novel connects the lives of characters changed by the sisters' abduction: a witness, a neighbor, a detective, a mother. Theirs is an ethnically diverse population in which racial tensions simmer, and so-called natives are often the first to be accused. As the story radiates from the peninsula's capital city to its rural north, we are brought to places of astonishing beauty: densely wooded forests, open expanses of tundra, soaring volcanoes, and glassy seas.

Disappearing Earth is a multifaceted story of the intimate lives of women--their vulnerabilities and perils; their loves, aspirations, and regrets; their desires and dreams. The novel speaks to the complex yet enduring bonds of community as it offers startlingly vivid portraits of people reaching out to one another and, sometimes, reaching back to save each other.

Gripping and tender, evoking with seamless authenticity an extraordinary place on the other side of the world, this thrilling novel with a haunting suspense at its center announces a profoundly gifted writer.

Andre udgaver:

Bog, paperback
Bog, hardback
E-bog, ePub

Vis mereVis mindre

Udgivelsesdato:
14-05-2019
ISBN13:
9780525520412
Vægt:
589 g
Dybde:
33 mm
Bredde:
165 mm
Højde:
236 mm
Format:
Hardback
Udgave:
0
Forfattere

Vis mereVis mindre

Vis mereVis mindre

Fandt du ikke hvad du søgte?

Hvis denne bog ikke er noget for dig, kan du benytte kategorierne nedenfor til at finde andre titler. Klik på en kategori for at se lignende bøger.

Velkommen til Saxo - din danske boghandel!

Hos os kan du handle som Gæst, Saxo-bruger eller Saxo Premium-medlem. Du bestemmer selv, og vores kundeservice sidder altid klar med hjælp.

Om medlemspriser hos Saxo

Hvis du køber til medlemspris, bliver du automatisk medlem og får del i de mange fede fordele. De første 30 dage er gratis for nye brugere, og derefter koster det kun 99,-/md. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk, og du kan altid opsige det. Læs mere om fordelene ved Saxo Premium her.

Machine Name: SAXO080