Barnaby Rudge
Du sparer Spar kr. 20,00 med Shopping-fordele
  • Leveringstid Kan forudbestilles
For at købe bogen til fordelspris skal du have et medlemskab med Shopping-fordele.
Du kan prøve medlemskabet gratis i 30 dage. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk og kan altid opsiges.
Format:
E-bog, ePub
Udgivelsesdato:
06-12-2021
Sprog:
Engelsk
Sidetal:
404
Kompatibel med Kindle
  • Beskrivelse
  • Yderligere info
  • Anmeldelser

‘Barnaby Rudge’ is a historical novel by Charles Dickens, depicting the anti-Catholic Gordon Riots of 1780 in England. It is a novel in which danger lurks around every corner, as the titular character and his mother venture across England to evade a mystery man that is haunting them. After arriving in London, the protagonists are swept up in the vortex of violence surrounding them as Barnaby is mistakenly captured by a group of soldiers and must escape before he is sentenced to death. ‘Barnaby Rudge’ is not simply a recollection of the riots but a sprawling story about lovers torn apart by their families and unsolved murders. Dickens’ celebrated social criticism is portrayed in this novel as the urban decay in the London slums fosters ‘the very scum and refuse’ that return as a violent mob to destroy it. A terrifying addition to Dickens’ collection, ‘Barnaby Rudge’ is recommended for fans of Dickens and Shakespeare.



Charles Dickens (1812-1870) was a widely popular English author and social critic. Among his most famous novels are ‘Oliver Twist’, ‘A Christmas Carol’, and ‘Great Expectations’. Dickens is best known for his depictions of poor Victorian living conditions and his unforgettable characters, some compassionate and others grotesquely malicious. Dickens’ timeless tales are still as celebrated today as when they were written, and his literary style is so influential that the term Dickensian was coined to describe the literature he inspired. Many of Dickens’ novels have been adapted for movies and television, including the Academy Award-winning musical ‘Oliver’.Fil størrelse: 866 KB

Andre udgaver:

Bog, paperback
E-bog, ePub
Lydbog, download

Vis mereVis mindre

Udgivelsesdato:
06-12-2021
ISBN13:
9788726605778
Forlag:
SAGA Egmont
Format:
ePub
Forfattere
Bibliotekernes beskrivelse ‘Barnaby Rudge’ is a historical novel by Charles Dickens, depicting the anti-Catholic Gordon Riots of 1780 in England. It is a novel in which danger lurks around every corner, as the titular character and his mother venture across England to evade a mystery man that is haunting them. After arriving in London, the protagonists are swept up in the vortex of violence surrounding them as Barnaby is mistakenly captured by a group of soldiers and must escape before he is sentenced to death. ‘Barnaby Rudge’ is not simply a recollection of the riots but a sprawling story about lovers torn apart by their families and unsolved murders. Dickens’ celebrated social criticism is portrayed in this novel as the urban decay in the London slums fosters ‘the very scum and refuse’ that return as a violent mob to destroy it. A terrifying addition to Dickens’ collection, ‘Barnaby Rudge’ is recommended for fans of Dickens and Shakespeare.Charles Dickens (1812-1870) was a widely popular English author and social critic. Among his most famous novels are ‘Oliver Twist’, ‘A Christmas Carol’, and ‘Great Expectations’. Dickens is best known for his depictions of poor Victorian living conditions and his unforgettable characters, some compassionate and others grotesquely malicious. Dickens’ timeless tales are still as celebrated today as when they were written, and his literary style is so influential that the term Dickensian was coined to describe the literature he inspired. Many of Dickens’ novels have been adapted for movies and television, including the Academy Award-winning musical ‘Oliver’.

Vis mereVis mindre

Vis mereVis mindre

Fandt du ikke hvad du søgte?

Hvis denne bog ikke er noget for dig, kan du benytte kategorierne nedenfor til at finde andre titler. Klik på en kategori for at se lignende bøger.

Velkommen til Saxo – din danske boghandel!

Hos os kan du handle som gæst, Saxo-bruger eller Premium-medlem – du bestemmer helt selv. Skulle du få brug for hjælp, sidder vores kundeservice-team klar ved både telefonerne og tasterne.

Om fordelspriser hos Saxo

For at købe bøger til fordelspris, skal du være medlem af Premium, Premium Shopping eller Premium Studie. De første 30 dage er gratis for nye medlemmer. Medlemskabet fornyes automatisk og kan altid opsiges. Læs mere om fordelene ved vores forskellige medlemskaber her.

Machine Name: SAXO080