KUN I DAG: Spar 50% på alle digitale bøger fra Gyldendal

Bog, paperback Barkskins af Annie Proulx

Barkskins

(Bog, paperback)

Kunder (0 anmeldelser)

Finalist for the Kirkus Prize for Best Novel

A New York Times Notable Book

A Washington Post Best Book of the Year



From the Pulitzer Prize-­­winning author of The Shipping News and “Brokeback Mountain,” comes the New York Times bestselling epic ... Læs mere

Finalist for the Kirkus Prize for Best Novel

A New York Times Notable Book

A Washington Post Best Book of the Year


... Læs mere

Produktdetaljer:

Sprog:
Engelsk
ISBN-13:
9780743288798
Sideantal:
736
Udgivet:
11-04-2017
Udgave:
Reprint
Vis mere

Sæt bog på liste

  • Bogliste


Andre udgaver:

(Bog, paperback), Engelsk
kr. 189,95
(Bog, hardback), Engelsk
kr. 289,95
(E-bog, ePub), Engelsk
kr. 59,95
(Lydbog, download), Engelsk
kr. 289,95
Vis flere udgaver
Leveringstid
3-5 hverdage
Leveres senest
03-10-2017

kr. 189,95
Fragt
kr. 29,95

kr. 139,95
Fri fragt

Du tilmelder dig Saxo Plusmedlemskab til 69 kr. hver måned. Se hvordan du sparer tre måneders Plusmedlemskab her

Til dig, der elsker bøger

Læs mere om Plusmedlemskab
Op til 70% rabat Fri fragt
Udvidet returret Ingen binding


Forlagets beskrivelse
Finalist for the Kirkus Prize for Best Novel
A New York Times Notable Book
A Washington Post Best Book of the Year


From the Pulitzer Prize-­­winning author of The Shipping News and “Brokeback Mountain,” comes the New York Times bestselling epic about the demise of the world’s forests: “Barkskins is grand entertainment in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy…the crowning achievement of Annie Proulx’s distinguished career, but also perhaps the greatest environmental novel ever written” (San Francisco Chronicle).

In the late seventeenth century two young Frenchmen, René Sel and Charles Duquet, arrive in New France. Bound to a feudal lord for three years in exchange for land, they become wood-cutters—barkskins. René suffers extraordinary hardship, oppressed by the forest he is charged with clearing. He is forced to marry a native woman and their descendants live trapped between two cultures. But Duquet runs away, becomes a fur trader, then sets up a timber business. Annie Proulx tells the stories of the descendants of Sel and Duquet over three hundred years—their travels across North America, to Europe, China, and New Zealand—the revenge of rivals, accidents, pestilence, Indian attacks, and cultural annihilation. Over and over, they seize what they can of a presumed infinite resource, leaving the modern-day characters face to face with possible ecological collapse.

“A stunning, bracing, full-tilt ride through three hundred years of US and Canadian history…with the type of full-immersion plot that keeps you curled in your chair, reluctant to stop reading” (Elle), Barkskins showcases Proulx’s inimitable genius of creating characters who are so vivid that we follow them with fierce attention. “This is Proulx at the height of her powers as an irreplaceable American voice” (Entertainment Weekly, Grade A), and Barkskins “is an awesome monument of a book” (The Washington Post)—“the masterpiece she was meant to write” (The Boston Globe). As Anthony Doerr says, “This magnificent novel possesses the dark humor of The Shipping News and the social awareness of ‘Brokeback Mountain.’”

Kundernes boganmeldelser af Barkskins

Anmeld bogen og vær med i konkurrencen om gavekort – læs mere her.

Der er ingen anmeldelser af Barkskins

for at skrive en anmeldelse.

Se andre bøger, der handler om:

Bogens kategori:

Din personlige bogassistent

Han følger dig rundt og finder nye anbefalinger, baseret på de bøger du kigger på.

Skjul bogassistenten

Få løbende anbefalinger fra din personlige bogassistent, mens du kigger rundt her på siden.